Commerce Commission appointments

 Commerce Commission appointments

Commerce and Consumer Affairs Minister Kris Faafoi today announced the reappointments of Sue Begg and Elisabeth Welson as members of the Commerce Commission, and the appointment of a new associate member, John Crawford.

Ms Begg will continue as Deputy Chairperson of the Commission until 2021, while Ms Welson will continue as a member until 2020.Both are involved in a wide range of work across the Commerce Commission and will provide continuity as the Commission’s mandate continues to grow, with expanded telecommunications regulatory responsibilities and new competition studies powers under Bills currently before Parliament.

New Associate Commissioner John Crawford has worked at senior levels across the public and private sectors and brings extensive commercial and regulatory experience in key sectors relevant to the Commission’s work.

The board of the Commerce Commission consists of six members, including the Chair, Deputy Chair and Telecommunications Commissioner. The Commission also includes three associate members, two cross-appointed from the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, and Mr Crawford.

%d bloggers like this: